Jazzonian Presents 2nd Annual Exceptional Young Jazz Leaders Band Festival 10/27/12

Jazzonian presents 2nd Annual Exceptional Young Jazz Leaders Band Festival
Saturday, October 27th, 2012, 11 AM to 4:00 PM
The Bienes Center for the Arts
St. Thomas Aquinas High School
2801 S.W. 12th St.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312

Admission: $10 p/p
Kids Free

Today we proudly bequeath and entrust the future of Jazz in the capable hands of South Florida’s best and brightest Young Jazz Leaders!   Jazzonian is extremely pleased to recognize our 2012 Young Jazz Leaders Band Festival Honorees: Allen Kanovski and Florence Eisenberg (RIP). 

Thank You to our generous sponsors: Blue Jean Blues, Bienes Center for the Arts, Minute Marketing Productions  
Media Supporter: Radio Esperanza 1550 AM 
All proceeds from this event will benefit Jazzonian Young Jazz Leaders Scholarship education fund.

2012 Exceptional Young Jazz Leaders Band Festival  
Master of Ceremony: Mr. James Chism, VP of Jazzonian; Executive Director of the Exceptional Young Jazz Leaders Band Festival  
11 AM – 11:45 
Florida Atlantic University – Jazz Ensemble 
Derrick Newbold- sax 
Chris Lopez- drums 
Sophie Matera- vocals 
Christian Davis- guitar 
Jesse Lezcano- piano 
John Provenzano-Clarinet and Sax 
Jordan Duke-sax 
Adam Merkt-bass  
Dr. Tim Walter, Director  
12 – 12:45 PM 
Dreyfoos School of the Arts – Jazz in Six 
Holden Ross, tenor sax 
David Lacy, alto sax 
Adesh Balraj, trumpet 
Ben Batalla, piano 
Vince Moore, bass 
Tyson Jackson, drums 
Pedro Hernandez, Director  
12:45 – 1 PM 
Comments from Jazzonian Founder and President Bobby Ramirez – Keynote address by Honoree Mr. Allen Kanonvsky 
1:15 – 2 PM
Have You Seen Miss Rios
Andrew Forman – Guitar-Atlantic High School
Zoe Fromer – Vocals-Atlantic High School
Sebastian Rios-Bass-Miami Beach Senior High
Murph Aucamp- Dreyfoos School of the Arts
2:15 – 3 PM
Parkway Middle School of the Arts – SOTA Jazz Combo
Jake Pardo- Leader, Guitar, Clarinet
Rashaan Salaam- Trombone
Henry Ulett-Vargas- Piano
Justin Osbourne- Bass
Jelani Hamilton- Drums
Jamesly Jeanmary- Drums
Diron Holloway, Band Director
3:15 – 4 PM
The MH Project
Markus Howell – Alto Saxophone
Ben Stocker – Tenor Saxophone
Max Boiko -Trumpet 
Zack Auslander – guitar 
Chris Mills – Bass 
Charlie Steiner – Drums
The Young Jazz Leaders Scholarship was established to provide financial assistance to promising young high school and college level Jazz musicians with the goal of inspiring individuals to become high achievers, developing future leaders in the community, empowering the next generation of Jazz musicians, and nurturing young fans of this artform.
"The story of Jazz (as is music and art) is a window to the human experience which enables each person to achieve his/her full potential. In that spirit, Jazz has the potential to inspire in the form of creativity, positive self-esteem, overcoming adversity, freedom of expression, leadership, and exceptionalism."