New World Center Opening Programming 1/27/11

Thursday, January 27, 2011
New World Center
500 17th Street
Miami Beach, FL 33139
Tickets for performances and events may be obtained by calling the New World Symphony at 305-428-6748.

7 PM A Schubert Journey
The first of New World Symphony’s Journey Concerts, a new performance format utilizing the unique design and theatrical resources of New World Center’s performance hall, A Schubert Journey explores the various genres of Franz Schubert’s musical output, including works for orchestra, instrumental ensembles, chorus, piano and solo voice. Using the hall’s flexible main stage and its four additional satellite stages, the program is complemented by subtle, evocative lighting that transitions seamlessly from one work to the next, taking the audience on a journey through the composer’s music.

New World Symphony
Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor/piano
Laura Aikin, soprano
Jeremy Denk, piano
Diego Silva, tenor
Joel Smirnoff, violin
University of Miami Symphonic Choir and Frost Chorale, with Joshua Habermann, director

All works by Franz Schubert
– Overture to The Magic Harp (1820)
– Grand March in G minor for Piano Four-Hands, Op. 40, No. 2 (1824)
(Jeremy Denk, Marnie Hauschildt, piano)
– Entr’acte No. 3 from Rosamunde (1823)
– Quartet No. 12 in C minor for Strings, “Quartettsatz” (1820)
(Joel Smirnoff, Karla Donehew-Perez, violin; Karen Matsumaru, viola; Sara Sitzer, cello)
– Entr’acte No. 1 from Rosamunde (1823)
– “The Trout,” Op. 32 (1817)
(Laura Aikin, soprano; Michael Tilson Thomas, piano)
– Quintet in A major for Piano and Strings, Op. 114, “The Trout” (1819)
IV. Theme with Variations
(Jeremy Denk, piano; Ko Sugiyama, violin; Elizabeth Breslin, viola; David Meyer, cello; Brendan Kane, bass)
– “Death and the Maiden,” Op. 7, No. 3 (1817)
(Laura Aikin, soprano; Michael Tilson Thomas, piano)
– FRANZ SCHUBERT arr. GUSTAV MAHLER: Quartet No. 14 in D minor for Strings, “Death and the Maiden,” II. Andante con moto (1824)
(Joel Smirnoff, leader)
– Ständchen, Op. 135 (1827)
(Laura Aikin, soprano; Jeremy Denk, piano; Women of the UM Frost Chorale)
– March and Chorus from Act I of Fierrebras (1823)
(UM Symphonic Choir and Frost Chorale)
– Aria and Duet from Act II of Alfonso and Estrella (1822)
(Laura Aikin, soprano; Diego Silva, tenor)
– Quartet with Chorus from Act I of Fierrebras (1823)
(Laura Aikin, soprano; Diego Silva, tenor; UM Symphonic Choir and Frost Chorale)
– Symphony No. 8 in B minor, “Unfinished” (1822)
I. Allegro moderato
– Shepherd on the Rock,” Op. post. 129 (1828)
(Laura Aikin, soprano; Jason Shafer, clarinet; Jeremy Denk, piano)
– Symphony No. 9 in C major, “Great” (1826)
IV. Allegro vivace

Tickets: All Tickets $100