Acoustica 21: The Living Earth Show 10/27/12

Acoustica 21: The Living Earth Show
Saturday, 10/27/2012, 08:00 pm – 09:00 pm
TLEShow2Harold Golen Gallery
2294 NW 2nd Ave,
Miami, Florida 33127
Webpage Link

Acoustica 21 series:
The Living Earth Show (Travis Andrews, guitar and Andrew Meyerson, percussion)
Harold Golen Gallery, 2294 NW 2nd Ave, Wynwood Art District, Miami FL, 33127 
Saturday, Saturday, October 27, 2012 at 8PM
More info at
Admissions: Free

The Living Earth Show is excited to present the east coast premiere of Luciano Chessa’s “Squeeze! Squeeze! Squeeze!” an hour-long theatrical post-minimalist composition based upon the oft-overlooked 94th chapter of Herman Melville’s Moby Dick.  Written for The Living Earth Show in 2012, the piece features custom-designed quartertone instruments (a vibraphone and a guitar) to present a warped hour-long etude, interspersed with theatrical staging and textural, performance-based “interruptions.”  “Squeeze! Squeeze! Squeeze!” explores the distorted soundscapes of Pink Floyd and The Jesus and Mary Chain, the physical and mental endurance of Michael Gordon’s “Timber,” the seemingly indeterminate theatrical events of John Cage’s “Happenings,” and the meditations on the relationships between art and sexuality found in the works Julius Eastman.

Guitarist Travis Andrews and percussionist Andrew Meyerson are The Living Earth Show, a San Francisco-based classical duo, presenting dynamic performances of amplified, electro-acoustic contemporary chamber music.  The Living Earth Show’s upcoming season includes performances of works written for the group by such composers as Samuel Carl Adams, Timo Andres, Adrian Knight, Luciano Chessa, Dan Becker, Chris Cerrone, Nick Vasallo, Andy Akiho, Ken Ueno, Jon Russell, and Damon Waitkus. The season will also feature the United States premiere of Brian Ferneyhough’s Renvoi/Shards, composed in 2008 for quartertone vibraphone and quartertone electric guitar.

Thank you for using Soul Of Miami!