From Ocala Mountain Bike Association: Greenway trails are at risk again!

Originally posted from the Ocala Mountain Bike Association:

An Important message from Rob Ern of OMBA – Greenway trails are at risk again!
Here we go again! The current budget cuts proposed by the Florida Department of Environmental Protection call for eliminating the Office of Greenways and Trails and closing 53 state parks, including the San Felasco State Preserve (Home of the Tour de Felasco), and Big Shoals in White Springs (Home of the Ididaride).

A complete list can be found here: http://audubonoffloridanews.org/?p=6830

The proposed budget in the House can be viewed by going to http://www.myfloridahouse.gov, click on Committees, click on Agriculture and Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee, then click on the Meeting Packets link on the right, then download the .pdf for the January 26, 2011 meeting. Items 50 and 52 on page 40 give the details.

A similar bill is in committee in the Senate.

Call your legislators NOW!!
Email the chairs of the committees. The chair of the House Committee is Trudi Williams and the chair of the Senate Committee is Alan Hays.
Representative Williams email address is: trudi.williams@myfloridahouse.gov
Senator Hays’ email address is: hays.alan.web@flsenate.gov

The rest of the members of the House committee are as follows:
Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov
Steve.Crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov
Leonard.Bembry@myflioridahouse.gov
Ben.Albritton@myfloridahouse.com
Frank.Artiles@myfloridahouse.gov
Jim.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov
Luis.Garcia@myfloridahouse.gov
Tom.Goodson@myfloridahouse.gov
Clay.Ingram@myfloridahouse.gov
George.Moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov
Steven.Perman@myfloridahouse.gov
Elizabeth.Porter@myfloridahouse.gov
Vasilinda.Rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov
Patrick.Rooney@myfloridahouse.gov
Franklin.Sands@myfloridahouse.gov
Stephanie.Massengale@myflorida.gov

Senate General Government Appropriations Committee member information is as follows:
Chair: Senator D. Alan Hays hays.alan.web@flsenate.gov
Vice Chair: Senator Lizbeth Benacquisto benacquisto.lizbeth.web@flsenate.gov
Senator Larcenia J. Bullard bullard.larcenia.web@flseante.gov
Senator Miguel Diaz de la Portilla portilla.miguel.web@flsenate.gov
Senator Anthony C. “Tony” Hill, Sr. hill.tony.web@flsenate.gov
Senator Dennis L. Jones, D.C. jones.dennis.web@flsenate.gov
Senator Jack Latvala latvala.jack.web@flsenate.gov

Please email or call the Chairs first, then move on to the other committee members as you have time.

Below are some important statistics you can use in your correspondence.
With an estimated $3.5Billion budget shortfall this fiscal year, now more than ever, we need our voices heard! The new Governor has stressed that economic development and tourism are two of his top priorities, and visitors to State Parks and Greenways are great examples of tourists spending money!

Do your part to help preserve some of the best trails in the State of Florida!
For the trails,
Rob Ern, VP
OMBA

Thank you for using Soul Of Miami!
Share: